The ‘National Innovation and Start-up Policy 2019 for students and faculty in HEIs was launched by Former Minister of Education, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ on 11th September 2019 at AICTE, New Delhi. This policy intends to guide HEIs for promoting students’ driven innovations & start-ups and to engage the students and faculty in innovation and start up activities in campus. The policy aims at enabling HEIs to build, streamline and strengthen the innovation and entrepreneurial ecosystem in campus and will be instrumental in leveraging the potential of student’s creative problem solving and entrepreneurial mind-set, and promoting a strong intra and interinstitutional partnerships with ecosystem enablers and different stakeholders at regional, national and international level. The policy is being implemented by MoE’s Innovation Cell and in coordination AICTE, UGC, state/ UT governments and universities. Implementation of policy has been undertaken for quick adoption by HEIs. The present policy is a way forward to the earlier version of AICTE’s Start-up Policy which was launched in the year 2016 to complement the Startup Action Plan under the Startup India and Stand-up India Program launched by Hon’ble Prime Minster of India.

Bharati Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University) College of Engineering, Pune (BVDUCOEP) has been at the forefront of fostering creativity and incubating business ideas by creating a space where its students and faculties can develop their potential.
This BV(DU)COEP policy will offer new aspects of the entrepreneurship to the students and faculty as well as provide the many guidelines connected to the adoption of a wider culture embracing innovation and entrepreneurship


• Revolutionize employability structure through strong establishment of innovation and entrepreneurial ecosystem.


• To motivate students to consider entrepreneurship as a career.
• To equip them with the necessary skills for implementing innovation and design
• To collaborate with national entrepreneurship organisations
• To provide infrastructure and services necessary to technical innovation targeting social problems


• To promote entrepreneurship culture by improving design thinking and critical thinking among students.
• To promote technology-based innovations.
• To establish linkages between academia, industry, financial institute, and other start up ecosystem enablers


National Innovation and Start up Policy (NISP) Committee

Name of Member



Prof. Dr. Vidula Sohoni

Principal and President IIC

NISP Chairman

Prof. Dr.Sachin Chavan

Vice Principal

NISP member

Mrs. Sonali D. Mali

NISP Coordinator

NISP Coordinator

Prof. Dr. Sunita Dhotre

IIC Convener

NISP member

Prof. Dr. Sunita Raut

R&D Cell In charge

NISP member

Prof. Dr. Mangal Patil

IIC Innovation Head

NISP member

Prof. Dr. Sudhir Kadam

IIC start up and EDC Head

NISP member

Prof. Dr. Priyanka Paygude


NISP member

Prof. Dr. D.G. Kumbhar

IIC Internship Head

NISP member

Prof. Ghongade

Professor E&TC department

NISP member

Abhishek Tomar

Elets Technomedia Pvt Ltd.

External Industry Expert

Shirish S. Warudkar

Director, Nextgen Logicon Services LLP.

External Expert Alumni Start up Founder

Keerthi Kadam

Director at Pune Open Coffee Club.

External expert Start up Founder

Neeraj Kumar

CO founder -Happy Clothing

External Expert Alumni Start up Founder